Federal Reserve Quantifies $20M Capital Charge For $1B Stablecoin Issuers Under GENIUS Act
The Federal Reserve proposed a stablecoin rule on August 18, 2026 that would convert payment stablecoin circulation into a direct capital charge for supervised issuers, with a $1 billion outstanding threshold triggering a $20 million baseline requirement. The proposal, published in the Federal Register as part of the Fed's implementation of the GENIUS Act, marks the first time the central bank has quantified how outstanding stablecoin balances would translate into regulatory capital obligations for the institutions it supervises.
The rulemaking arrives as the Fed joins the OCC, FDIC, and NCUA in building the prudential framework mandated by the GENIUS Act, the 2025 law that established the first federal regulatory regime for payment stablecoins. Under the proposal, a Fed-supervised issuer with $1 billion in outstanding payment stablecoins would face a $20 million capital charge, according to the Federal Register document published August 18, 2026. The capital requirements must be tailored to the business model and risk profile of each issuer, the proposal states, but the $1 billion-to-$20 million conversion establishes a concrete baseline that supervised issuers can use to model their compliance costs.
Fed Proposal Would Treat Stablecoin Circulation As A Capital Cost For Supervised Issuers
The core mechanism of the Fed's proposal converts outstanding stablecoin circulation into a capital obligation, treating the liability side of a stablecoin issuer's balance sheet as a risk-weighted exposure rather than a neutral pass-through. The Federal Register document from August 18, 2026 specifies that a permitted payment stablecoin issuer with $20 billion of outstanding stablecoins would face a tiered capital requirement, with the rate stepping down as outstanding amounts increase: 2% for the first $20 billion, 1.5% for the next $30 billion, and lower rates for larger balances, according to MENAFN's coverage of the proposal.
The $1 billion threshold and $20 million baseline represent the entry point for the capital charge. The proposal's example calculation shows that a stablecoin with $1 billion of reserve assets that kept 10% in a particular asset class would trigger specific capital treatment, according to the public inspection version of the Federal Register document. The Fed's approach links capital directly to circulation volume, meaning that as an issuer's stablecoin grows, its capital obligation grows proportionally — a design intended to ensure that issuers maintain sufficient loss-absorbing capacity as their liabilities expand.
The proposal also requires covered issuers to fully back payment stablecoins with permitted reserve assets, including short-term U.S. Treasury securities, according to DigWatch's analysis of the Fed's GENIUS Act rules. The reserve requirement operates alongside the capital charge, creating a dual-layer prudential framework: issuers must hold assets equal to 100% of outstanding stablecoins, and separately must hold capital against the circulation itself. The Fed established a tailored application process for issuers seeking to operate under the new framework, according to Ground News coverage.
The capital charge mechanism reflects the Fed's view that stablecoin circulation creates risk even when fully reserved. A fully-backed stablecoin can still face redemption runs, operational failures, or asset-liability mismatches, and the capital requirement provides a buffer against those risks. The proposal's tiered structure — 2% on the first $20 billion, 1.5% on the next $30 billion — suggests the Fed believes larger issuers benefit from diversification and scale that reduces marginal risk, according to the MENAFN report.
Which Issuers Fall Under The Fed's Stablecoin Supervision And How The $20M Baseline Adjusts
The Fed's proposal applies to "supervised issuers" — permitted payment stablecoin issuers (PPSIs) that fall under the Federal Reserve's jurisdiction. The GENIUS Act defines four federal payment stablecoin regulators: the FDIC, OCC, FRB, and NCUA, each with jurisdiction over different categories of issuers, according to KPMG's Regulatory Insights analysis from May 2026. The Fed's slice includes insured state member banks and their subsidiaries, which would need Fed approval before a subsidiary could issue payment stablecoins, according to LBank News coverage of the proposal.
The $20 million baseline adjusts based on the issuer's business model and risk profile. The Federal Register document states that capital requirements must be tailored to the business model and risk profile of each issuer, meaning the $20 million figure is a starting point rather than a fixed obligation. The OCC's parallel proposal calculated a minimum capital requirement of $24 million for OCC-regulated-bank affiliated permitted payment stablecoin issuers, according to the public inspection document, suggesting the Fed's $20 million baseline may be lower than what other regulators are considering for their supervised entities.
The proposal also addresses foreign payment stablecoin issuers. Proposed § 1523.2(a) makes clear that foreign payment stablecoin issuers that meet the criteria set out in section 18(a) of the Act would be subject to the framework, according to the Federal Register document. This extends the Fed's capital charge beyond domestic issuers to any foreign entity that meets the statutory criteria for U.S. operations, closing a potential loophole where offshore issuers could serve U.S. customers without facing the same capital obligations.
The exemption structure remains an open question in the proposal. The OCC's proposed rule implements an exemption for qualifying foreign payment stablecoin issuers set out in the GENIUS Act, according to Eversheds Sutherland's analysis, but the Fed's proposal does not clearly specify which adjustments would apply to the $20 million baseline for different issuer categories. The open question — what adjustments would apply to the $20 million baseline — remains unanswered, suggesting the Fed is seeking comment on this point rather than proposing a definitive adjustment mechanism.
The safe harbor provision offers temporary relief for issuers with pending applications. The GENIUS Act allows regulators to waive compliance for up to 12 months for PPSIs with substantially complete applications pending as of the effective date, according to KPMG. This safe harbor could delay the capital charge for issuers already in the application pipeline, but does not exempt them permanently — a waiver does not preclude the agencies from denying an application, KPMG notes.
Industry Reactions To The Fed's Stablecoin Capital Proposal
Industry response to the Fed's capital proposal has been muted, with no direct public statements from major banks, crypto firms, or trade associations specifically addressing the $1 billion-to-$20 million capital conversion. The absence of named industry reactions is itself notable: the proposal was published August 18, 2026, and the comment period had not yet generated the kind of public opposition that accompanied earlier stablecoin rulemakings.
The broader context of industry engagement with stablecoin regulation suggests where opposition may emerge. Trade groups filed a joint statement in May 2026 flagging that the stablecoin yield restriction — prohibiting rewards economically equivalent to interest — contains provisions that could harm issuers, according to LexRegPulse's Daily Regulatory Briefing from May 9, 2026. The Bank Policy Institute and Consumer Bankers Association submitted comments on the FDIC's parallel proposal arguing that capital requirements applicable to permitted payment stablecoin issuers should be interpreted narrowly under 12 U.S.C. § 5903(a)(4)(A), according to the FDIC's public comment docket.
White House talks in February 2026 brought Coinbase, trade groups, and banks together to negotiate whether third parties can offer stablecoin rewards, according to The Block. Those negotiations demonstrate the industry's willingness to engage directly with regulators on stablecoin economics, and the Fed's capital proposal — which directly affects issuer profitability — is likely to draw similar engagement once the comment period matures.
The OCC's earlier proposal drew requests for comment period extensions due to the length of the NPRM, according to Debevoise & Plimpton's analysis. Comments on the OCC's proposal were due May 1, 2026, and comments on the FDIC's proposal were due June 9, 2026, according to BerryDunn. The Fed's proposal, published later in the year, would follow a similar comment timeline, giving industry participants roughly 60 days to respond.
The absence of immediate industry reaction may reflect the technical nature of the capital charge. Unlike the yield restriction — which directly affects whether stablecoin issuers can share revenue with holders — the capital charge affects issuer balance sheets rather than holder economics. Banks and crypto firms may be assessing the proposal's impact before committing to public positions, particularly given the tiered structure that reduces marginal capital costs for larger issuers.
Next Steps For The Fed's Stablecoin Capital Rule: Comment Period And Finalization Timeline
The Fed's proposal enters a 60-day comment period after publication in the Federal Register on August 18, 2026, according to LBank News. That timeline would put the comment deadline in mid-October 2026, though an exact date is not specified. The proposal is one of two released by the Fed covering GENIUS Act implementation — the other addresses the approval process for banks seeking to issue stablecoins through subsidiaries.
The Fed's rulemaking joins a crowded calendar of stablecoin regulation across federal agencies. The FDIC Board approved its own proposed rulemaking in April 2026 covering FDIC-supervised PPSIs and insured depository institutions, according to Shepley Capital's GENIUS Act explainer. The OCC issued the first comprehensive proposal, covering frameworks for applications, licensing, supervision, and regulation, according to KPMG. The NCUA has also issued proposed rules for credit unions under its jurisdiction.
The coordination challenge is significant. The FDIC and OCC combined posed nearly 350 questions in their proposals, according to KPMG, suggesting that the agencies are still working through fundamental implementation issues. The Fed's proposal adds another layer of questions specific to its supervised entities, and the final rules will need to harmonize across four different regulators with overlapping but distinct jurisdictions.
The finalization timeline remains uncertain. The GENIUS Act gave federal agencies one year to write implementing rules, according to a LinkedIn analysis by a regulatory consultant, and the staggered proposal dates — OCC in April, FDIC in April, Fed in August — suggest finalization could extend into 2027. The Fed's proposal does not specify a target finalization date.
For market participants, the next concrete objects to watch are the comment deadline in mid-October 2026, any public hearings or workshops the Fed schedules during the comment period, and whether the Fed issues a final rule before the end of 2026. The base case is that the Fed finalizes the capital charge largely as proposed, given the statutory mandate and the alignment across agencies. The bull case for issuers would be a higher exemption threshold or a lower baseline capital charge in the final rule, driven by industry comments demonstrating that the $20 million baseline is disproportionate for smaller issuers. The bear case would be a final rule that extends the capital charge to additional issuer categories or increases the baseline, reflecting Fed concerns about stablecoin run risk. The comment period itself — and the volume and substance of industry responses — will be the first signal of which path the Fed is likely to take.
Disclaimer: The content provided on Onebullex News is for informational purposes only. We do not guarantee the quality, accuracy, or completeness of the information sourced from third-party articles. The content on this page does not constitute financial or investment advice. We strongly encourage you to conduct your own research and consult with a qualified financial advisor before making any investment decisions.















